Web Content Viewer
Actions
Becoming an Apprentice Auctioneer
book and gavel photo

Anyone who is interested in becoming an auctioneer must first serve a one year apprenticeship.

Requirements to Become an Apprentice Auctioneer

Must provide proof that the applicant:
A. Has a good reputation, 
B. Is of trustworthy character, 
C. Has attained the age of at least 18 years,
D. Has obtained a written promise of a licensed auctioneer to sponsor the applicant during the applicant’s apprenticeship,
E. Has satisfied the financial responsibility requirements established under 4707.11 of the Revised Code.
F. Proof of attendance at an approved auction school. 
G. The applicant must take and pass the apprentice auctioneer examination with a score of 70% or better.

Forms Needed

Application Form

Bond Form or you may provide an irrevocable letter of credit in the amount of $25,000 in lieu of a surety bond.

Police Waiver Form

*All applications for an apprentice auctioneer license must be accompanied by proof of attendance at an approved auction school. 

Annual Fee

Credit Card payment or Check or money order payable to Treasurer, State of Ohio, in the amount of $115.00 ($100.00 for license fee and $15.00 for the exam fee). The license fee is always $100.00 regardless of the date of application and all licenses expire June 30 of each year. All checks will be deposited with the Treasurer, State of Ohio within 72 hours of receipt. Credit cards will be charged once a completed application is on file.

Licensing Period

July 1 to June 30

Exam Information

After all forms have been filed and if you meet the requirements for licensure under chapter 4707.09 of the Ohio Revised Code (See booklet of laws and rules which is available at www.agri.ohio.gov, select the Ohio Auctioneer Guide). You will be notified of the date, time, and place of examination, which is given monthly. You will not be notified at the time we receive the application. All applications must be received fourteen days in advance of the
scheduled exam in order to be seated for that month’s exam and no earlier than 30 days prior. 

No Auction Activities are Permitted until License is Issued and Received.