Web Content Viewer
Dr. Tony M. Forshey, DVM
March 17, 2019 | Administration

Dr. Tony M. Forshey, DVM

Dr. Tony Forshey is chief of the Division of Animal Health, which is charged with protecting and promoting the health of Ohio's livestock and poultry industries. Dr. Forshey serves as the state veterinarian and oversees operations for the division.

Dr. Forshey practiced veterinary medicine for 27 years with an interest in swine production. He served on several major swine health manufacturer advisory boards including Elanco Animal Health, Pfizer Animal Health, Newport Laboratories and Schering Plough. 

He has served as an Adjunct Associate Professor at The Ohio State University, College of Veterinary Medicine, Department of Veterinary Preventive Medicine for the past 10 years. Dr. Forshey serves as the vice-chair  of the Ohio Livestock Care Standards Board; co-chair, the Swine Update Program, Department of Preventive Medicine, OSU; chair, the Ohio Veterinary Medical Association Swine Sub-Committee to the Ohio Department of Agriculture; chair, the equine and the aquaculture task forces for the department; and an ex-officio member of the Ohio Livestock Coalition and the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation boards of directors. 

He is a member of the Ohio Swine Health Advisory Board; the steering committee of The Ohio Pork Industry Center; the American Veterinary Medical Association; the Ohio Veterinary Medical Association; the United States Animal Health Association and the National Institute of Animal Agriculture boards of directors; the Ohio Pork Producer Council (OPPC) Producer Education Committee; the OPPC Swine Health and Research Committee; the Ohio Livestock Export Council; and the OSU Extension 4-H Animal Sciences Strategic Advisory Committee.

His honors and awards include: the National Institute for Animal Agriculture's Chairman's Award (2012); the Ohio Veterinary Medical Association's Veterinarian of the Year Award (2010); Ohio Pork Producers Council Service Award for Outstanding Service to the Ohio Swine Industry (1998); the Ohio Veterinary Medical Association's Meritorious Award for service to the Ohio Swine Industry(1997); the Outstanding Alumnus Award, Shenandoah High School, Sarahsville, Ohio (1996); Who's Who in American Society and Business Citation (1992); and the Outstanding Young Alumnus Award, The Ohio State University, College of Veterinary Medicine (1987).