
 
 

Auctioneer License Application Instructions 
 

Below is a listing of the required forms to be completed for an auctioneer license.   
1. Auctioneer Application form. 
2. Auctioneer Supplement Application form (business applicants only). 
3. Bond form or an irrevocable letter of credit.  Must be bonded in the favor of the State of Ohio 

(not required if eligible for the Auction Recovery Fund). 
4. Police Waiver form. 
5. Instructions and forms for Non-resident applicants and any applicants requesting waiver of 

apprenticeship and/or examination requirements (for use by those who meet apprenticeship 
equivalency requirements of 4707.07 of the Ohio Revised Code-Auction Licensing Laws). If you 
were previously licensed, you must provide proof of licensure. 

 
You must have the following on file prior to being scheduled for examination. 

1. Properly completed application, printed or typed. 
2. A 2x2 inch photo (face only) taken within the last sixty (60) days. 
3. For initial or new applicants, a surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit is required as a part of 

licensure.  The bond or irrevocable letter of credit must be written in the exact name that is stated 
on line numbers 1 and 2 of AUCTIONEER APPLICATION.  BONDS MUST HAVE A BOND 
NUMBER AND BE SIGNED.  Auctioneer Bond amount must be in the amount of $25,000.00. A 
ONE TIME Auctioneers Bond must be in the amount of $50,000. 

4. Appropriate license fee and exam fee.  A check or money order needs to be made payable to 
Treasurer, State of Ohio.  Ohio licenses are issued biennially.  IF your last name or the first letter 
of the corporation, partnership or association’s name begins with the letters “A” through “J” and 
“X” through “Z” your license will expire on odd numbered years.  If your last name or first letter 
of the corporation, partnership or association begins with “K” through “W”, your license will 
expire on even numbered years.  If you are applying at the beginning of the biennium, the 
auctioneer  license fee is $200.00.  If you are applying half way through the biennium the 
license fee is $100.00.  The examination fee is $25.00.  You will need to either submit a check or 
money order in the amount of $225.00 or $125.00 depending where you fall within the biennium.  
If you are not required to take the examination (see No. 7 above), enclose only the appropriate 
license fee.  The one time license fee is $500.00. 

5. If you are qualifying by way of regular apprenticeship, twelve completed “Certification of 
Participation in Auction” forms, one for each sale, endorsed by your sponsor.  These were sent to 
you or your sponsor when your license was first issued.  

6. Original letter on the school’s stationary verifying your attendance at and graduation from the 
school.  Auctioneer school must be a school approved by the Ohio Auctioneers Commission. 

7. If you are seeking a waiver of standard apprenticeship (see No. 7 above), under the terms of 
Section 4707.07 of the Revised Code, refer to the SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS and submit, with 
the application, all additional required forms and proofs. 

8. Current Original Certification Letter from out-of-state licensing board.  One time license 
applicants must provide proof of twelve auctions in the last two years. 

 
After all forms and proofs have been filed and if you meet the requirements, you will be notified, by mail, 
of the date, time and place of examination, if applicable.  The examination is given four times a year, 
quarterly.  Your license will be issued if you meet all the requirements and pass both parts (written and 
oral) of the examination.  Do not submit your application earlier than 30 days and no later than 14 days 
prior to the examination. 
 



Book of Auctioneer Laws and Rules is available at www.agri.ohio.gov. 
 

Specific Instructions for Completing the Auctioneer Application Form 
 

1. Name of applicant: individual, corporation, LLC, association or all partners’ names. 
2. Intended auctioneer/business/trade name.  A second name may be used.  The use of more than 

three business names will cost an additional $10.00 fee which must accompany the license fee 
and application.   Any business other than your individual name or the corporation name must be 
registered with the Ohio Secretary of State at (614) 466-3910. Submit copy of certificate of trade 
name registration. 

3. Business address of applicant: This must be an actual physical address, box number, or rural route 
number, not a post office box number. 

4. Bank accounts: You are required, under licensing laws, section 4707.024 of the Revised Code to 
maintain a client bank account into which all sales proceeds should be deposited within 72 hours 
from the date of the auction.  The bank account should be used only for depositing sale proceeds 
into and paying consigner/owners, your commission and other expenses directly related to sale 
and specified in the contract.  Your personal or other business funds should never be commingled 
with these funds.  Account number must be given. 

 
Specific Instructions for Completing the Auctioneer Supplement Application Form 

 
1. Name of applicant (same as number 1 of auctioneer application). 
2. List all names and complete addresses. In the case of a corporation, list the individuals holding 

the position title of president, vice president, secretary and treasurer.  For a corporation, fifty 
percent of the board of directors and the CEO must be Ohio licensed auctioneers.  In the case of a 
LLC, partnership or association fifty percent of the partners or members must be Ohio licensed 
auctioneers. 

 
Please Note: 
For initial or new applicants, a surety bond or an irrevocable letter of credit is required as a part of 
licensure.  The bond or irrevocable letter of credit must be written in the exact name that is stated on line 
numbers 1 and 2 of AUCTIONEER APPLICATION.  BONDS MUST HAVE A BOND NUMBER AND 
BE SIGNED.  Bond amount must be in the amount of $25,000.00 if applying for an auctioneer license.    
A One Time License Bond must be in the amount of $50,000. 
 
Documentation of legal existence must accompany applications.  (Partnerships and associations must be 
filed with the County Recorder).  Out of State Corporations must apply with the Ohio Secretary of State 
as a foreign corporation.  Documentation of authorization required.  Police Record Check on board of 
directors, partners, members of the company: No police record check is required if the record check on 
file is less than six months. 
 
CHECKS PAYABLE:  Treasurer State of Ohio.  Checks will be deposited within 72 hours of receipt.  If 
paying via MasterCard, Visa or Discover please fill out the required information at the bottom the 
application form.  Your card will be charged upon receipt of a completed application.   
 
For applicants requiring examination, the application must be on file with the department 14 days in 
advance of the exam.  You will be notified by mail on the date, time and place to appear. 
 

ALL INCOMPLETE/INCORRECT APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED, 
UNPROCESSED. 

NO AUCTION ACTIVITIES ARE PERMITTED UNTIL A LICENSE IS IN HAND. 

http://www.agri.ohio.gov/

